Farm fresh, organic, local home delivered produce (week 1)

So, earlier this week, my “tiny” box of produce was delivered to my front door. Fresh from local farms, organic or natural (aka awaiting organic certification but following pesticide and chemical free practices and sans the use of GMO seeds), it was left in a shady spot by my front door in a white cardboard box with an ice pack in it.When I opened it the ice pack was still cool and still a bit firm and despite having been in the sun for at least 2 hours, the collard greens were fresh and not wilted.

Here is what I was in the box this week : Veggies from delivered organic loacl produce

  • A gorgeous, healthy purple-red cabbage,
  • 2 Silver Queen corn
  • 3/4 lb of yellow wax beans
  • A couple of red beets
  • A bunch of collard greens
  • Almost 1 lbs red creamer potatoes
  • 3 patty pan squash (they are adorable looking!)
  • 2 Garnett yams
  • 3 white peaches
  • 2 oranges

We have already had the wax beans oven roasted (click for recipe), the potatoes oven roasted, the squash oven roasted and the collard greens sautéed with garlic and lemon juice. The peaches are much too firm for my liking (same thing I disliked about having produce delivered a couple of years ago) but the oranges will be had this week. I will oven roast the yam and beets, cook the cabbage Indian style and steam the corn for the kids for lunch tomorrow. One box of produce, finished in a few days. Will post in the coming weeks as the vegetables get delivered.

What I like: wax paper wrapping on the greens, fresh, local groceries delivered to my doorstep, the chance to try something I might not otherwise find or pick up at the grocers

What I don’t like – plastic bags wrapping some of the food, too firm fruits (jury is on hold until I see how quickly this ripens this week).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Oven Roasted Wax Beans « The Discrete Blogger
  2. Trackback: More fun with Kale! « The Discrete Blogger

Leave a comment

Some Site Viewers: