More fun with Kale!

Today, I had two bunches of kale delivered in my weekly produce delivery from Natures Garden Delivered. One is a lovely purple frilly kale and the other a frilly grey-green kale. I opened my fridge to make lunch, and wanted to use the kale and also some feta cheese I had in the fridge. As I was making tortillas for the kids’ lunch, I decided to make a similar bit for my lunch. So, I took a Trader Joe’s Whole Grain tortillas with whole flax seeds and put it on a plate. I spread out one slightly overlapping layer of green and purple kale leaves (roughly torn by hand), sprinkled a couple of tablespoonfuls of black beans, a tablespoon or more of lightly thawed frozen corn kernels and roughly broke two slices of feta cheese into a few pieces. Covered it with a second tortilla and microwaved it for 1.5 minutes. Let it cool for a few seconds and cut it into 4 pieces.

Voila! A quick, satisfying and reasonable healthy meal in under 5 minutes. Next time, I might have to try it with more kale and perhaps a dribble of salsa for added flavor. Try it and tell me what you think!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 20:56:57

    Kale quesadillas sound amazing! Miss you guys!

    Reply

  2. Peppermint tea thyme
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 21:12:12

    I love Kale and it features in lots of my recipes too! I hadn’t thought of using it uncooked in a wrap though.. 🙂

    Reply

    • The Discrete Blogger
      Jul 31, 2012 @ 22:17:33

      Try it and let me know what you think.
      It might be worth sprinkling a bit of Mexican shredded cheese and microwaving.
      Mine is not totally uncooked though – it does cook for about 1 1/2 minutes in the wrap.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Some Site Viewers:

