Oven Roasted Wax Beans

I wanted to use up the local, organic, farm fresh home delivered produce I received earlier this week. To that end, I made use of the yellow wax beans and made them up this way.

Ingredients

  • Yellow wax beans ends trimmed
  • Some olive oil
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)
  • Lemon juice (to taste – I used about a teaspoon)
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme
  • a handful or more of roasted peanuts
  • Finely chopped fresh ginger (to taste – I used a tsp)

Roast the beans with olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme at about 400 – 425 degrees F for 20-25 minutes until browning. Remove and add fresh ginger, peanuts and lemon juice. Toss to coat.

Makes a really nice side dish. I might try it with cilantro and soy sauce instead of thyme (but I would add these at the end and not roast them thyme keeps its flavor and looks fresh despite long periods of baking, but cilantro just looks blah!). I remember seeing something like this in a magazine at some point.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Farm fresh, organic, local home delivered produce (week 1) « The Discrete Blogger
  2. highschoolfoodie
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 22:24:42

    I love wax beans whenever I can find them. I’ll be sure to roast them next time.

    http://www.highschoolfoodie.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. The Discrete Blogger
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 23:32:50

    @highschoolfoodie…let me know if you do and how they turn out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Some Site Viewers:

