Recipes to try

I am always on the lookout for new recipes. Easy ones are an added bonus. This week, I have found at least three that I would like to try soon (as in sometime this year).

  • 30-minute pizza dough by Not Just a Housewife sounds so easy. This might be a quick dough when you don’t have a couple of hours to wait for a decent homemade pizza crust and hungry hordes await. However, I would have to try it with modifications like using a healthier flour, though I am aware that this might change the timings a bit.
  • Thai Chickpea Pizza on a Cauliflower Crust by Clean Eating Veggie Girl is more time-consuming, but both the crust (low-calorie!) and the topping (more protein ideas for vegetarians) are a winner though I am not sure my kids will savour that Brassica smell! I also need to see what I can do to replace the egg with something else (yogurt? more flour? flax? I-can’t-believe-it’s-not-egg if there is such a thing??). Somehow pizza and egg don’t work for me.
  • Overnight Oats by Travels with Mary in which you don’t cook the oats but soak them overnight with moisteners like yogurt, milk, juices etc. might be a way to have breakfast almost ready with minimal work on rushed morning. Will have to try it first with quick cooking oats as the recipe calls for and then see how it goes with my preferred steel-cut oats. I am still a bit haunted by the time I soaked steel-oats overnight and left them on the counter. They were a sickly greenish tint the next morning and saw only the inside of the garbage disposal bin! So, the thought of overnight soaking isn’t really appealing though I know the cold from the fridge will retard the green stuff!
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. travels with mary
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 09:03:18

    I didn’t love my overnight oats because I couldn’t get over the cold-consistency– but I did find a good recipe for crock-pot overnight oats that I think I could totally get behind! (and it uses steel-cut oats!)

    Reply

    • The Discrete Blogger
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 12:19:35

      Do you have it on your blog? I might have to give it a whirl! Although, I do find that if I put boiling water on it first thing in the morning (yay electric kettle!) and cover it, by the time I am ready to make breakfast, it has softened considerably and takes less cooking. My favorite recipe for it is to soak some steel cut oats, and then boil with frozen mixed berries and sliced almonds. I find I need no sugar when I put enough fruit in it. This is a recipe that makes me feel virtuous šŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. cleaneatingveggiegirl
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 09:12:22

    I hope you like the Thai Chickpea Pizza! You will have to let me know if you come up with a substitute for the egg that works :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Some Site Viewers:

